Dates: 18 February 2018 - 25 February 2018

Cruise Line: Holland America

Ship: ms Oosterdam

Location: Mexican Peninsula

Ports

Itinerary

Date Location Arrival Departure
Sunday 18 Feb 18 San Diego, California 4:00pm
Monday 29 Feb 18 At Sea
Tuesday 20 Feb 18 Cabo San Lucas, Mexico 10:00am 5:00pm
Wednesday 21 Feb 18 Loreto, Mexico 8:00am 1:00am
Thursday 22 Feb 18 La Paz, Mexico 10:00am 6:00pm
Friday 23 Feb 18 At Sea
Saturday 24 Feb 18 At Sea
Sunday 25 Feb 18 San Diego, California 7:00am

Milestones

Announced: February 24, 2017

Initial Booking: Saturday, February 25, 2017

Itinerary announced: Thursday, May 25, 2017.

Initial Lineup announced: Thursday, July 20, 2017

Shadow Cruise event submission window open: Thursday, November 2, 2017 - Thursday, January 18, 2018

Helper Monkey Application window open: Thursday, November 2, 2017 - Thursday, January 18, 2018

Cabin numbers assigned: Thursday, November 9, 2017

HAL booking numbers assigned: Thursday, November 16, 2017

Shore excursions on sale: Wednesday, November 29, 2017

Loreto Food Festival tickets available online through: January 31, 2018

Booking closes: February 10, 2018

Attendance: “80 percent capacity”, per the Management Q&A session, 2018. (calculates to 1,571)

Percentage of ship's passengers: 100%

Schedule

Official Schedule: Released February 8, 2018 (10 days prior to departure)

Onboard Documents:

See also: 2018 Activities

About the Shadow Cruise - Some scheduling stats:

  • 93 distinct Shadow Events
  • 131 Shadow Event sessions
  • 183.5 hours of Shadow Events on the schedule
  • 358 total public sessions of things to do
  • 493.75 total hours of things to do scheduled
  • 166 hours on board the ship (if you managed to board by noon and were among the last people off)

(or Google Drive Folder containing the 2018 Guidebook (aka bluebook from first day), “When & Where” daily newsletters & inserts, Voyage Log (all .pdfs provided by THO))

Artists

Cory Doctorow: Cancelled October 12, 2017. “Unfortunately, due to an unavoidable scheduling conflict, Cory Doctorow will be unable to attend the 2018 cruise. He wished us to convey his “enormous regret and chagrin” (that's a direct quote) that he can't make it this year, and we will all be sure to raise a delicious frozen drink his honor while on board.”

Ted Leo: Cancelled December 28, 2017. “Unfortunately, Ted Leo has to cancel his appearance with is for 2018. We've loved having him aboard, and look forward to having him back in future years. Huan, the Hound of Valinor has spoken for an unprecedented fourth time to express how much he will miss Ted this year.”

Podcasts:

  • The Dork Forest
  • Feminist Frequency Radio
  • Queery
  • Shmanners

Notes

2018 Email Archive

Official Karaoke List (2018)

JoCo 2018 Game Library Titles Google Doc

Friendly Fez Table Tent PDF, Google Drive

Merchandise

  • years/2018.txt
  • Last modified: 2019/01/10 18:15
  • by nessa